In the constitutional scheme of Pakistan, Prime Minister is the chief executive, but surprisingly since the creation of the country in 1947, no prime minister has completed his/her constitutional term. After Election-2018, the 15th National Assembly of Pakistan will be electing the next prime minister in its first session after the oath of members and election of the speaker and deputy speaker.

 In the early days of Pakistan (1947-1958) seven prime ministers were either appointed or were product of palace intrigues. However after the adoption of the Constitution of 1973 following prime ministers had been elected;


Date of election Prime Minister Opposition Candidates Opposition Candidates Oath/remarks
12th August 1973 Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto-108 votes Maulana Shah Ahmed Noorani-28-votes   Took oath on August 14, 1973
28th March 1977 Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto-168 (He was only candidate)      
24th March 1985 Muhammad Khan Junejo     Vote of Confidence unanimous
4th December 1988 Benazir Bhutto


Opposition-55-votes   Vote of Confidence 12th December 1988
6th November 1990 Nawaz Sharif-153-votes Muhammad Afzal Khan (PDA) 39-votes    
19th October 1993 Benazir Bhutto-121-votes Nawaz Sharif-72-votes    
17th February 1997 Nawaz Sharif-177-votes Aftab Shabaan Mirani-16-votes    
21st November 2002 Zafarullah Jamali-172-votes Maulana Fazalur Rehman-86-votes Shah Mehmood Qureshi-70-votes Vote of confidence 29th December 2002. Votes 188/342
29th June 2004 Ch. Shujaat Hussain -190-votes Makhdoom Amin Faheem-76-votes    
27h August 2004 Shaukat Aziz-191-votes Makhdoom Javed Hashmi (jail)-Zero Vote    
24th March 2008 Syed Yusuf Raza Gillani-264-votes Pervaiz Elahi-42-votes    

22nd June 2012


Raja Pervaiz Ashraf-211-votes


Sardar Mehtab Abbasi-89-votes

5th June 2013 Nawaz Sharif-244-votes Makhdoom Amin Faheem-42-votes Javed Hashmi-31-votes  
1st August 2017 Shahid Khaqan Abbasi-221-votes Syed Naveed Qamar-47-votes Sh. Rasheed Ahmed-33-votes Sahibzada Tariqullah-4-votes